Top 5 Horror Books to Scare You This Halloween

tumblr book

The time of year is upon us, folks! It’s Halloween week. And do you know what goes beautifully with jack-o-lanterns? Candy (seriously, I eat more in those 24hrs than I give out to trick-or-treaters). But even more than a high calorie intake, Halloween is a perfect time to pick up a scary book.

Below are my top 5 favorite horror book recommendations for the ghouls out there who love a good scare.

Dracula by Bram Stoker

Yes, I know – total cliché – however the fact that the 1897 gothic horror is still so relevant makes Bram Stoker’s Dracula part of my top 5. The author largely responsible for defining the modern form of vampires we see today but please, don’t settle for the current knockoffs; do yourselves a favor and read the original.

dracula

Ghost Story by Peter Straub

I’d grant Straub’s Ghost Story one of the scarier books that I’ve read. Even the master of horror himself Stephen King pegged it as “probably the best of the supernatural novels to be published”. If you’re a fan of this genre, pick it up. You’ll be happy (and terrified) that you did.

ghost

The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson

This is certainly one of the greatest ghost stories of the 20th century. Although it walks a fine line between paranormal horror and psychological thriller, Jackson is genius at setting the tone and the whole story leaves you with an unsettling feeling in the pit of your stomach hours after you’ve finished.

haunting

It by Stephen King

Much of the story revolves around a middle-aged clown going around town murdering people. Need I say more?

it

Ghost Beach (Goosebumps #22) by R. L. Stine

Perhaps it’s due to the fact that I watched the new movie this weekend but yes, I’ve listed a Goosebumps novella in my top 5 and no, I’m not sorry. If you were anything like me as a kid, chances are you grew up reading Stine’s series and I’d be hard pressed to believe that you didn’t think they were awesome. All cheesy moments aside, Ghost Beach is a fun Halloween read for most ages.

beach

(Photos above courtesy of Tumblr)

Leave a Reply

